Wednesday, March 18, 2015

EMULSION Opens 3/21 at Gallery OonH

EMULSION 2015 image courtesy East City Art

Gallery OonH (1354 H Street)is once again hosting the art show EMULSION.

An emulsion combines two seemingly incompatible ingredients to produce a third yet entirely new substance.  In this spirit, EMULSION, now in its second year, seeks to show visitors a wide array of art forms and mediums - from two-dimensional work to performance based work - to create a unified ensemble.

East City Art and Phil Hutinet are pleased to announce Gallerist Adah Rose Bitterbaum has selected 31 applicants from the greater Washington-Baltimore region to exhibit at EMULSION. Three cash prizes will be awarded to the first, second and third place contestants on opening night. 

EMULSION is the regions premiere showcase for contemporary artists from the Washington-Baltimore metropolitan area, says EMULSION Producer Phil Hutinet. The great number of applicants demonstrates the wealth of artistic talent in our region. In our second edition, EMULSION 2015 will display the works of 31 diverse artists, from sculptors to painters to performance artists.

From opening night through Friday, March 27, the audience will be able to select their favorite artist and vote via text messaging. The votes will be tallied and top two artists will receive the EMULSION Peoples Choice Award. Winners will be announced on Saturday March, 28 at the closing.

An open call for entry to all artists residing in the Washington-Baltimore metropolitan area yielded 213 submissions.  Of these, Juror Adah Rose Bitterbaum selected the following 31 artists to exhibit:

Erick Antonio Benitez, Baltimore, MD
Joshua Araujo, Rockville, MD
Chris Bohner, Washington, DC
Bobby Coleman, Baltimore, MD
Rita Elsner, Washington, DC
Elissa Farrow-Savos, Sterling, VA
Roxana Alger Geffen, Washington, DC
Jay Hendrick, Fairfax, VA
Leslie Holt, Hyattsville, MD
Elizabeth Holtry, Frederick, MD
Ways R. Jones, Brentwood, MD
Jaime (Jimyung) Kim, Baltimore, MD
Chee Keong Kung, McLean, VA
Kyujin Lee, Washington, DC
Ruth Lozner, Bethesda, MD
Carolina Mayorga, Washington, DC
Bruce McKaig, Washington, DC
Anthony Palliparambil, Jr., Bowie, MD
John Paradiso, Brentwood, MD
Pam Rogers, Washington, DC
Rahshia Sawyer, Sterling, VA
Anne Smith, Arlington, VA
Casey Snyder, Gaithersburg, MD
Scott Speck, Pasadena, MD
Marsha Staiger, Alexandria, VA
Sidney Thomas, Washington, DC
Patricia Underwood, Castleton, VA
Alice Whealin, Arlington, VA
Amy Wike, Washington, DC
Andrew Wodzianski, Washington, DC

Andrew Wohl, Bethesda, MD

Opening Reception: Saturday, March 21 from 7 to 11PM Carolina Mayorga Performs Silent Celebration at 7:45PM; Awards Ceremony 8 PM. The event is FREE and open to the public. RSVP:
Closing Event: Saturday, March 28 from 7 to 10 PM People's Choice Awards Ceremony at 8PM
Gallery Hours:
Sunday, March 22 open from noon to 4 PM
Tuesday-Friday, March 24-27 open from 6:30 to 9 PM

1 comment:

Anonymous said...